For the purpose of localization of solar energy, IIT Bombay selects and collaborates with state level NGOs who become Institutional Partners (IPs) to provide support in assembling SoUL kits and distributing it to the selected rural blocks. They will also be responsible for managing the repair and maintenance services of the solar lamps.

These NGOs are selected through criteria such as having outreach, significant experience in working in the development sector in their regions, infrastructure, staff and having a familiarity with the people, language and culture of the state.

Currently, IIT Bombay has partnered with nine IPs across four states: Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Orissa and Rajasthan.

1. Aga Khan Rural Support Programme (AKRSP)

The Aga Khan Development Network (AKDN) is a group of development agencies with mandates that include the environment, health, education, architecture, culture, microfinance, rural development, disaster reduction, the promotion of private-sector enterprise and the revitalization of historic cities.

SoUL districts - Barwani, Khargone, Khandwa (Madhya Pradesh)

2. Ashagram Trust

Located in Madhya Pradesh, Ashagram Trust works for the integration of persons with disability and mental illness to mainstream society. It reaches out to marginalized, disadvantaged, stigmatized and excluded persons beyond conventional charity or welfare. Its efforts aim at removing social stigma attached with disabled persons.

SoUL district - Barwani (Madhya Pradesh)

3. BAIF Development Research Foundation

BAIF is committed to sustainable development in rural India. Their mission is to create opportunities of gainful self-employment for rural families, especially disadvantaged sections, ensuring sustainable livelihood, enriched environment, improved quality of life and good human values. This is being achieved through development research, effective use of local resources, extension of appropriate technologies and upgradation of skills and capabilities with community participation.

SoUL districts - Thane (Maharashtra), Betul (Madhya Pradesh), Udaipur and Dungarpur (Rajasthan)

4. Centre for Advanced Research in Development (CARD)

CARD is a non-governmental agency that works to promote advanced research and to apply its findings for the protection and development of the society and its environment. It believes in community-based Natural Resource Management approach to reduce rural poverty.

SoUL districts - Mandla, Dhar (Madhya Pradesh)

5. Foundation for Ecological Security (FES)

As ‘ecological security’ is the foundation of sustainable and equitable development, the Foundation for Ecological Security (FES) is committed to strengthening, reviving or restoring, where necessary, the process of ecological succession and the conservation of land, forest and water resources in the country. FES’ efforts lie in locating forests and other natural resources within the prevailing economic, social and ecological dynamics in rural landscapes and in intertwining principles of conservation and local self governance for the protection of the natural surroundings and improvement in the living conditions of the poor.

SoUL districts – Pratapgarh, Chittaurgarh, Bhilwara, Udaipur and Rajsamand (Rajasthan), Koraput (Orissa)

6. Gramin Vikas Trust (GVT)

GVT is a national level organization established to provide poor and marginalized communities new but contextual opportunities, knowledge, skill and resources for enabling their engagement in optimal and productive farm and non-farm based income generating activities as well as improving their educational and health standards. It provides its support for SoUL in two states – Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan.

SoUL districts – Dhar and Jhabua (Madhya Pradesh), Banswara and Baran (Rajasthan)

7. Harsha Trust

Harsha Trust is a not for profit organization that works with the tribal and the poor in remote locations of Orissa, aiming to bring in human development in challenging conditions. Intervening with backward communities on basic needs of food sufficiency and livelihoods, Harsha Trust has tried to bring hope among the people who have been cut off from the developmental processes.

SoUL districts – Koraput, Nabaranpur (Orissa)

8. Sahjeevan Samiti

Sahjeevan Samiti is an NGO established with a vision for sustainable development through a participatory approach. Their mission includes creating a mutually complementary and co-existent society, an eco friendly lifestyle, and focusing on program oriented rather than project oriented methods.

SoUL districts – Shahdol and Annupur (Madhya Pradesh)

9. Watershed Organization Trust (WOTR)

WOTR is a non-profit organization recognized widely in the field of participatory Watershed Development and Climate Change Adaptation. Its unique strength lies in its ‘on-field’ experience and in a systemic, participatory approach. Its mandate is to reduce poverty by mobilizing the self help capacities of individuals and communities to regenerate the eco-spaces that they live in, harvest rain water wherever it falls, use it productively and undertake sustainable livelihoods.

SoUL district - Ahmednagar (Maharashtra)